Like-Minded People

This year I have written down a lot of goals. Most of them involve things that will help me be a better “me” on the inside and then theres the ones that will make me a more knowledgeable “me” such as things I want to learn but at the top of the list is the goal of surrounding myself with what I call like-minded people. In general, I’m what you call a loner. I have friends, but I prefer to be by myself most of the time however this year I’ve resolved to be more sociable and surround myself with people I have something in common with not just on an intellectual level but interests as well. I want to be around people who have goals and desires and aren’t just talking about them but actually getting up and aspiring towards them. Believe me, I know a lot of people right now who want this and want that, are going to do this, going to do that but it’s all talk! They don’t get off the couch or out the house or from in front of the computer long enough to make it happen. Don’t get me wrong, I’m totally not knocking being in front of the computer half your life since I’m a computer junky myself. Even I had to find balance between getting out of the house and breathing the closest thing to fresh air and sitting in front of my PC (or laying back with my laptop).

My point is, although their are many different types of people in the world and you’re going to interact with many that you don’t have anything in common with, you have a choice as to who you hang out with and this year I’ve chosen to find people that – and this may sound crazy – have common sense and use it, are half way intelligent (80% would be even better), have goals that contribute positively to their life in order to improve who they are and who genuinely have similar interests that I do. (I hate the ones that pretend to like something and it just happens to be something you like, but it’s all in the name of impressing you or thinking it makes them look better, grrrrr! Such a pathetic waste of mind energy!)

Anyway, in closing, I just want to make sure that I’m not coming across as thinking that a person shouldn’t have a variety of friends with different tastes, backgrounds, intellect, etc. That’s definitely what I’m NOT saying. I just believe that if a person is at a certain place in life, that they shouldn’t be weighed down by people who aren’t there yet and refuse to do anything to improve upon it.

3 thoughts on “Like-Minded People

  1. And don’t forget what Grandma always said…”if you lay down with the dogs, youll end up with FLEAS”
    We ARE judged by who we associate with, and life’s just more fun with friends who are REAL people ;~*)

  2. That’s sooo true Christy! And as a person whose always tended to, what do the young people call it, “do me”, I’ve never cared what others were thinking where I was concerned but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve certainly learned to decide WHO I am and WHAT kind of person i want my demeanor, character, etc. to reflect to other people so with that said, i make DAMN SURE that any impression people are going to get of me is going to be because I, ME, VERONICA, was the one giving it and not because of the guilty by association rule

  3. Bravo!!!! That’s when you KNOW that you TRUELY are a grown up…and when it’s been at least 6 months since your lights and phone have been “cut off”! Lololol

Leave a Reply

